University of Canterbury


University of Canterbury



University of Canterbury Law School

Contact: Information: Law Dean: Professor Ursula Cheer




University of Canterbury Law Students’ Society


The University of Canterbury Law Students’ Society (LAWSOC) has the object to represent and promote the interests of law students enrolled at the University of Canterbury. LAWSOC events include: Law Camp, Minter Ellison Rudd Watts law tutorials, The Chapman Tripp Law Revue, The Law Ball and Russell McVeagh & LAWSOC sport. For further details, see the LAWSOC website and Facebook page:


LAWSOC Website:

LAWSOC Facebook:


For further information, please contact:


Tom Pemberton (President)

Jackie Rooke (Vice-President)



Te Pūtairiki – University of Canterbury Māori Law Students’ Society


Te Pūtairiki is run entirely by students for students with the main objectives of fostering, promoting and nurturing the whakawhanaungatanga (togetherness) of our students.Te Pūtairiki also provides support, guidance, pastoral care, and helps to facilitate academic excellence. For further details, see the Te Pūtairiki website and Facebook page:


Te Pūtairiki Website:

Te Pūtairiki Facebook:


For further information, please contact:


Kaelym McGrath (Tumuaki – President)

Mihiterina Sorenson (Tumuaki Tuarua – Vice-President)




What are the Law Student Societies?

The Law Student Societies are student-run, representative organisations that are associated with each of the six Law schools in Aotearoa New Zealand. They are the touch base and first point of call for all law students at each university. For more information on each of the Law Student Societies, check out the following links:

University of Auckland | Auckland University of Technology | University of Waikato | Victoria University of Wellington | University of Canterbury | University of Otago